Chairman's Message

 
"In days to come, the FRC will hold on to our core values – independence and impartiality, accountability and transparency, integrity and proficiency to embrace the opportunities and challenges ahead, and to serve for a better auditor regulatory system, a better Hong Kong​."​




​​​​

​It is my honour and privilege to be appointed as the Chairman of the Financial Reporting Council (FRC) under the new auditor regulatory regime commencing on 1 October 2019.   First and foremost, I would like to extend my warmest welcome to our Board Members, who, having been appointed from different professional backgrounds, are the invaluable assets of the FRC. I look forward to working closely with our Board Members in discharging our responsibility effectively. 

Thanks to the relentless efforts of our Council Members (now Board Members), Honorary Advisers, the Financial Reporting Review Panel and management team over the past few years, the FRC has finally transformed itself to be the full-fledged independent auditor regulator of Hong Kong, vested with direct powers of inspection, investigation, recognition of overseas auditors of listed entities and discipline concerning auditors of public interest entities (PIE auditors). The FRC will also be overseeing the performance of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA) of their functions in relation to auditors of listed entities including registration; setting of standards on professional ethics, auditing and assurance; and setting of continuing professional development requirements.

In addition to the above statutory duties, we will conduct policy research on audit and financial reporting issues that are pivotal to the promotion of good corporate governance.  Creating a corporate culture that is conducive to discharging our functions effectively as a financial regulator is also high on our agenda.  As we appreciate the value of stakeholders engagement, we will continue engaging our stakeholders on different issues and matters to ensure that we understand the key issues faced by the practitioners. We will also strengthen our cooperation with financial regulators both locally and internationally.

To cater for our strategic focus, we have put in place a new governance structure that comprises 5 committees namely the Inspection Committee, the Investigation Committee, the Oversight, Policy and Governance Committee, the Finance and Corporate Affairs Committee and the Compensation and Nomination Committee under the Board to provide advice to the FRC. At the same time, we continue to engage our Honorary Advisers, who, with a wide spectrum of professional expertise, will continue to provide their advice and contributions to the FRC at the committee level. We have full confidence that by leveraging on the wealth of experience and expertise of our Board Members and Honorary Advisers, the FRC is well-poised to implement our mission and strategies and to discharge our expanded statuto​ry duties as an effective regulator, a defender of law and promoter of good corporate governance.

As an effective financial regulator, we definitely need comp​etent professionals who share the same philosophy and passion with us.  We are now in the process of recruiting our CEO and other senior staff to perform our expanded functions and believe that by nurturing an appropriate corporate culture, we will be able to attract like-minded professionals to join our team.

In days to come, the FRC will hold on to our core values – independence and impartiality, accountability and transparency, integrity and proficiency to embrace the opportunities and challenges ahead, and to serve for a better auditor regulatory system, a better Hong Kong.


Dr Kelvin Wong, JP​
Chairman ​​​

主席的話


 
展望未來,財匯局將擁抱我們的核心價值,即獨立及公正、承擔及具高透明度、誠信及精湛才能,以迎接未來的機遇和挑戰,並為更好的核數師監管制度和更美好的香港而努力服務。​」​
​​​




2019年10月1日起,新核數師監管制度開始實施,我在此時獲任命為財務匯報局(財匯局)主席,深感榮幸。首先,我要熱烈歡迎我們的董事局成員。他們來自不同專業背景,是財匯局的寶貴資產。我期待與董事局成員緊密合作,以有效履行本局職能。

全賴財匯局成員(現稱「董事局成員」)、名譽顧問、財務匯報檢討委員團和管理團隊在過去幾年中不懈努力,財匯局終於轉化成為香港全面的獨立核數師監管機構,獲賦予直接行使查察、調查、認可上市實體海外核數師和紀律處分上市實體核數師的權力。財匯局亦獲賦予權力監督香港會計師公會履行對上市實體核數師的註冊、制定專業道德、審計及核證準則和制定專業進修規定的職能。

除上述法定職能外,我們還會就審計及財務匯報議題進行政策研究,以促進良好的公司管治。建立優良企業文化,以利本局有效地履行作為金融監管機構的職能亦是我們的策略重點。我們深明持份者參與的價值,因此本局將繼續邀請他們參與不同的議題和事項,以確保我們了解執業人士面對的關鍵問題。我們還將加強與本地和國際金融監管機構的合作。

為配合我們為擴大職能所制定的策略,我們建構了一個全新的管治架構,在董事局下設立了五個委員會,包括查察委員會、調查委員會,監督、政策及管治委員會,財務及企業事務委員會和薪酬及提名委員會,向財匯局提供建議。同時,擁​有廣泛專業知識的名譽顧問將繼續在委員會層面向財匯局提供建議和作出貢獻。我們很有信心,透過董事局成員和名譽顧問的豐富經驗和專業知識,財匯局可以充分執行我們的使命和策略,並履行我們作為有效的監管者、法律捍衛者和優良管治推動者的擴大法定職責。

作為有效的金融監管機構,我們絕對需要與我們分享相同理念和工作熱情的稱職專業人士加入團隊。 我們現正招募行政總裁和其他高層人員,以履行我們擴大職能,並相信透過孕育適當的企業文化,我們將能夠吸引志同道合的專業人員加入我們的團隊。

展望未來,財匯局將擁抱我們的核心價值,即獨立及公正、承擔及具高透明度、誠信及精湛才能,以迎接未來的機遇和挑戰,並為更好的核數師監管制度和更美好的香港而努力服務。


黃天祐博士,銀紫荊星章​,太平紳士 ​