FUNDING AND LEVIES

Government Grant

The HKSAR Government has granted a seed capital of HK$400 million to facilitate the smooth migration of the FRC to the new auditor regulatory regime, to cushion the FRC against short-term fluctuations in the levy income, to fund one-off capital and non-recurrent expenses, to allow the FRC to gradually expand its staff complement taking into account its actual operational needs, and to provide a buffer for other exigencies of circumstances.  Starting from 1 January 2022​, the FRC will be self-financing with funding from levies payable by sellers and purchasers of securities, PIEs and PIE auditors.

Levies with effect from 1 January 2022
Under the Part 4A (sections 50A to 50G) - Levies​ and Schedule 7 of the Financial Reporting Council Ordinance (FRCO)1, with effect from 1 January 20222, levies will be payable by the following groups of persons:
  1. Sellers and purchasers of securities;​
  2. Public Interest Entities (PIEs); and
  3. PIE auditors.


Levies payable by sellers and purchasers of securities

A levy, calculated as set out below, is payable by the seller and purchaser in a sale and purchase of securities that is recorded on a recognized stock market or notified to a recognized exchange company under its rules.

The levy should be paid to the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEC) in the way and within the time specified by the HKEC.

The levy payable for a sale and purchase of securities is for the seller at a rate of 0.00015% of the consideration for the sale and for the purchaser at a rate of 0.00015% of the consideration for the purchase.

No levy is payable for a sale and purchase of a stock option.

No levy is payable for a sale and purchase of securities by an exchange participant3, if the exchange participant holds a securities market maker permit4 in relation to the securities that is in force at the time of the sale or purchase and makes the sale or purchase in the course of making a market for the securities.

3 has the meaning given by section 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 1 to the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Cap. 571)
4 has the meaning given by section 2 of the Securities and Futures (Levy) Order (Cap. 571 sub leg. Z)

Levies payable by PIEs

A levy, calculated as set out below, is payable by a PIE for a calendar year.

A PIE must pay the levy to the Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited (HKEC) in the way and within the time specified by the HKEC.

The levy payable by a PIE for a calendar year is at a rate of 4.2% of the prepaid annual listing fee. ​For this purpose, the prepaid annual listing fee is the annual listing fee that is payable by the PIE to the HKEC in advance in one instalment for the calendar year under the Listing Rules.

The levy payable by a PIE for a calendar year, calculated as set out above, is not to be adjusted even if the annual listing fee payable by the PIE to the HKEC for the year is subsequently adjusted under the Listing Rules.


Levies payable by PIE auditors

A levy, calculated as set out below, is payable by a PIE auditor for a calendar year.

A registered PIE auditor must pay the levy to the HKICPA in the way and within the time specified by the HKICPA. A recognized PIE auditor must pay the levy to the FRC in the way and within the time specified by the FRC.

The levy payable by a PIE auditor for a calendar year is the sum of (i) HK$6,155 x N and (ii) 0.147% of TR. However, if N is zero, the levy payable by the PIE auditor for the calendar year is HK​$2,000.

N is the number of PIEs for which the auditor is carrying out, as at 31 December of the preceding calendar year, an engagement specified in item 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 1A of the FRCO (specified engagement).

TR is the total remuneration paid to the auditor, in the preceding calendar year, by the PIEs for which the auditor carried out specified engagements.

For the purposes of determination of the levy, a PIE auditor is carrying out an engagement for a PIE on a day if
  1. the auditor undertakes the engagement on that day; or
  2. the auditor has undertaken the engagement before that day and the engagement has not been completed by that day.

For ascertaining N and TR, the HKICPA or the FRC (as the case requires) may refer to the annual financial statements of the PIEs submitted to the HKEC under the Listing Rules; or any information or document provided by the PIE auditor to the HKICPA or the FRC under section 50C(2) of the FRCO.

A PIE auditor must provide the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA) or the FRC, as the case requires, with the information or document that the HKICPA or the FRC reasonably requires for ascertaining the levy payable by the auditor.

經費來源及徵費

政府資助

香港特區政府已批出港幣四億元的種子資金予財匯局,以協助其順利過渡至新核數師監管制度、緩解財匯局在徵費收入方面的短期波動、應付一次性資本及非經常性支出、按其實際營運需求逐步擴大其員工人數。並為其他緊急情況提供支援。從2022年1月1日​開始,財匯局將自負營虧,向證券買賣雙方,公眾利益實體及公 眾利益實體核數師收取徵費,作營運資金。

由2022年1月1日起徵費
根據《財務匯報局條例》第4A部(第50A至50G條)-徵費及附表7-徵費的計算1,由2022年1月1日起2,以下人士或組別須繳付徵費
  1. 證券買賣雙方;​
  2. 公眾利益實體;及
  3. 公眾利益實體核數師


證券買賣雙方須繳付徵費

凡有證券買賣已根據某認可交易所的規章,在認可證券市場記錄或通知該交易所,則該買賣中的買賣雙方,均須繳付徵費,其計算方法如下。

徵費須以香港交易及結算所有限公司指明的方式及時限內向該公司繳付徵費。

就買賣證券繳付的徵費,賣方的徵費為售賣證券的成交價的0.00015%;買方的徵費為購買證券的成交價的0.00015%。

任何人無須就買賣股票期權,繳付徵費。

如某交易所參與者3在售賣或購買證券時,該參與者就該等證券,持有有效的證券莊家執照4;及該項售賣或購買,是在就該等證券進行莊家活動的過程中作出的,則該參與者無須就該項售賣或購買,繳付徵費。

3 具有《證券及期貨條例》(第571章) 附表1第1部第1條所給予的涵義
4 具有《證券及期貨(徵費)令》(第571章,附屬法例Z) 第2條所給予的涵義

公眾利益實體須繳付徵費

公眾利益實體須就每一公曆年繳付徵費,其計算方法如下。

公眾利益實體須以香港交易及結算所有限公司指明的方式,在該公司指明的時限內,向該公司繳付徵費。

公眾利益實體就某公曆年須繳付的徵費,為每年預繳上市費用的4.2%。每年預繳上市費用,為有關公眾利益實體根據《上市規則》,就有關公曆年須向香港交易及結算所有限公司一筆過預先繳付的每年上市費用。

即使公眾利益實體須就某公曆年向香港交易及結算所有限公司繳付的每年上市費用,在其後根據《上市規則》調整, 公眾利益實體須就該年繳付以上計算的徵費,亦無需調整。

公眾利益實體核數師須繳付徵費

公眾利益實體核數師須就每一公曆年繳付徵費,其計算方法如下。

註冊公眾利益實體核數師須以香港會計師公會指明的方式,在該公會指明的時限內,向該公會繳付徵費;認可公眾利益實體核數師須以財匯局指明的方式,在該局指明的時限內,向該局繳付徵費。

公眾利益實體核數師須為某公曆年須繳付的徵費,為 (i) HK$6,155 乘 N;及 (ii) TR 的 0.147% 的總和。然而,如 N 是 0,公眾利益實體核數師就有關公曆年須繳付的徵費,為 HK$2,000。

N 為符合以下說明的公眾利益實體的數目︰截至上一個公曆年的12月31日,該核數師有為該實體進行《財務匯報局條例》附表1A第1部第1項指明的項目(指明項目) 。

TR為在上一個公曆年,公眾利益實體就該核數師為它們進行指明項目而付予該核數師的總酬金。

就繳付徵費而言,如符合以下條件,公眾利益實體核數師即屬在某日,為某公眾利益實體進行某項目:
  1. 該核數師在該日承擔該項目;或
  2. 該核數師在該日之前,已承擔該項目,而在該日,該項目尚未完成。

為確定 N 及 TR,香港會計師公會或財匯局(視情況所需而定)可參照有關公眾利益實體根據《上市規則》,向香港交易及結算所有限公司​呈交的周年財務報表;或有關公眾利益實體核數師根據《財務匯報局條例》第 50C(2) 條,向香港會計師公會或財匯局提供的任何資料或文件。

凡香港會計師公會或財匯局(視情況所需而定)為確定某公眾利益實體核數師須繳付的徵費,而合理地需要某資料或文件,該核數師須向該公會或該局提供該資料或文件。