Complaints

Lodge a complaint

The FRC is committed to protecting investors through maintaining a fair and effective auditor regulatory system. Any person who possesses information and/or evidence which suggests that there are or may be misconduct committed by a PIE auditor or registered responsible person or non-compliance with accounting requirements in the financial statements of a ​listed enitity may lodge a complaint with the FRC. ​​

Submit Online

The FRC will not normally deal with verbal complaints. Complainants are advised to use the FRC’s complaint form.

*Complainants may remain anonymous
Lodge a Complaint

Submit by email, fax or mail

Complainants should fill in the complaint form and send it to the FRC via email, fax or mailing.

Email address

complaints@frc.org.hk

Fax number

(852) 2810 6320

Mailing Address

‘Complaints’
Financial Reporting Council
24th Floor, Hopewell Centre
183 Queen's Road East
Hong Kong

Provide sufficient information

Complainants should provide accurate and complete information for the FRC to evaluate a complaint. Information should include:
(i) name of the PIE auditor, registered responsible person and the listed entity;
(ii) specific details of the events or subject matters indicating the misconduct and non-compliance with accounting requirements. Where appropriate, dates and parties involved should also be provided;
(iii) complainant’s name, contact number, email and postal address; and
(iv) copies of any relevant documents providing evidence in support of the complaint.

Handling complaints

How does the FRC handle a complaint?

1. Upon receipt of a complaint, the FRC issues an acknowledgement to the complainant.
2. All complaints are dealt with as soon as practicable. The period of time required for handling a complaint depends on the circumstances of each individual case.
3. All complaints are treated in strict confidence although the FRC may need to disclose information to other regulatory bodies and/or law enforcement agencies. Such disclosures are, however, made under the secrecy provisions of the Financial Reporting Council Ordinance (FRCO).
4. In reviewing a complaint, the FRC may need to contact the complainee in order to collect additional information. Details of the complaint may have to be disclosed to this party, but, it is the FRC’s policy that the identity of a complainant shall not be revealed to outside parties unless the complainant identifies himself to the public or consents to such disclosure.

Reviewing and assessing complaints

5. To decide whether or not an investigation or enquiry or both should be initiated, the information and evidence provided by the complainant is reviewed.
6. The complainant, PIE auditor, registered responsible person and/or listed entity concerned may be asked to provide additional information and an explanation of the matters referred to in the complaint.
7. Following an assessment of the information and evidence available, the FRC will decide on the appropriate action to be taken. This may include initiating an investigation or enquiry, referral of the case to the appropriate regulatory bodies and/or law enforcement agencies, no further pursuit of the complaint and/or any other action considered appropriate by the FRC.
8.
The FRC may direct an investigation to be carried out where the FRC has (a) reason to inquire into whether there has been misconduct committed by a PIE auditor or registered responsible person for considering whether to impose a sanction; (b) reasonable cause to believe that a PIE auditor or registered responsible person has contravened a provision of the FRCO; or (c) reasonable cause to believe that a PIE auditor has carried out a PIE engagement in a way which is not in the interest of the investing public or in the public interest.  Where it appears that there is or may be a question as to whether or not there is non-compliance with accounting requirements, the FRC may initiate an enquiry.
9. Where there is insufficient information and evidence of the alleged misconduct or non-compliance with accounting requirements to support a complaint, or the subject matter of the complaint is immaterial, falls outside the jurisdiction of the FRC, or is not related to a misconduct or non-compliance with accounting requirements, the FRC may take such action as it considers appropriate. This may include no further pursuit of the complaint or referral of the case to an appropriate authority.

Checking the status of a complaint

10. A complainant will be notified in writing with brief reasons if the FRC decides not to pursue his complaint. If the complainant is not satisfied with the FRC’s decision, the complainant may request a review with relevant reason and evidence.​​​
11. If an investigation or enquiry is initiated, no information will be disclosed during the progress of the case. This enables the FRC to conduct its investigation or enquiry on a confidential basis. It also preserves the integrity of the process and protects the PIE auditor, registered responsible person and listed entity concerned during the course of the investigation or enquiry.
12. If the review of a complaint lasts for more than 12 calendar months, the FRC will update the complainant of the progress of the review provided that it does not violate the secrecy provisions under the FRCO.
13. On completion of review and assessment of complaints or on completion of an investigation or enquiry, if no misconduct or non-compliance with accounting requirements is found, complainants will be informed that no further action is to be taken by the FRC. If the complainant is not satisfied with the FRC’s decision, the complainant may request a review with relevant reasons and evidence​. Complainants will be informed if the FRC refers the matter to other regulatory body or law enforcement agency for follow-up action, but no other information will be disclosed.
14. In deciding whether or not to publish an investigation on enquiry report, or any part of a report, the FRC shall consider:
(a) whether or not the publication may adversely affect any criminal proceedings or any proceedings before the Market Misconduct Tribunal or under the Professional Accountants Ordinance that have been or are likely to be instituted;
(b) whether or not the publication may adversely affect any person named in the investigation or enquiry report; and
(c) whether or not the investigation or enquiry report, or any part of the report, shall be published in the interest of the investing public or in the public interest.
Remarks:
(1) The FRC may not be able to proceed with the complaints which are not supported by sufficient evidence.
(2) Complainants may choose to remain anonymous. However, the FRC may not be able to request more information or clarify matters regarding the complaints with them.
(3) The FRC will not normally deal with verbal complaints. Anyone who experiences difficulties in lodging a written complaint should contact the FRC on (852)2810 6321 for assistance. ​

投訴

程序

財務匯報局致力透過公平和有效的核數師監管制度保障投資者權益。任何人士如有關乎公眾利益實體核數師或註冊負責人的失當行為或上市實體的財務報表不遵從會計規定事宜的資料及/或證據,可向財務匯報局作出投訴。​

網上提交

財務匯報局一般不會處理口頭投訴。投訴人可使用財務匯報局的投訴表格。

* 投訴人可以選擇以匿名方式提出投訴
作出投訴

電郵、傳真或郵寄

投訴人可使用財務匯報局的投訴表格​作出投訴,並經以下任何一種方式呈交本局

電郵:

complaints@frc.org.hk

傳真:

(852) 2810 6320

郵寄:

香港皇后大道東183號
合和中心24樓
財務匯報局
(投訴處理組)

提交所需及充足資料

投訴人必須提供準確和完整的資料,讓本局評估及以最適當的方法處理有關投訴。這些資料包括:
(i) 公眾利益實體核數師、註冊負責人及上市實體的名稱;
(ii) 有關失當行為或不遵從會計規定事宜的事件詳情。請列明事件發生的日期及所涉及之有關各方的名稱或姓名;及​
(iii) 投訴人的姓名、郵寄地址、電郵地址及聯絡電話;及

(iv)

任何支持有關投訴的文件副本。

投訢處理


財務匯報局如何處理投訴?

1. 財務匯報局於接獲投訴後,會向投訴人確認收到有關投訴。
2. 財務匯報局會盡快處理所有投訴,但是處理每宗投訴所需時間會視乎個別情況而定。
3. 投訴一律保密處理,但如有需要,財務匯報局或需要向其他監管機構及/或執法機構披露相關資料。所披露的資料均根據《財務匯報局條例》的保密條款處理。
4. 財務匯報局審閱投訴時,或需要聯絡被投訴人,以便取得進一步資料。財務匯報局或需要向被投訴人披露投訴詳情。不過,財務匯報局定當履行內部政策,不會向外界透露投訴人的身份,除非投訴人自行向公眾人士披露身份或同意向外界披露身份。

審閱及評估投訴

5. 財務匯報局將審閱投訴人提供的資料及證據,考慮是否展開調查及/查訊。
6. 財務匯報局可能要求投訴人、有關公眾利益實體核數師、註冊負責人及/或上市實體就投訴所提及事項提供進一步資料及作出解釋。
7. 財務匯報局於評估所得資料及證據後,會決定應採取的適當行動,當中包括展開調查或查訊、將投訴個案轉介予其他適當的監管及/或執法機構、不再跟進投訴及/或採取財務匯報局認為適當的其他行動。
8. 財匯局在下列情況下就公眾利益實體核數師或註冊負責人進行調查: (a) 財匯局為考慮是否施加處分,有理由就某公眾利益實體核數師或註冊負責人是否已經作出失當行為,作出查訊;(b) 財匯局有合理因由相信某公眾利益實體核數師或註冊負責人已違反《財務匯報局條例》的條文;或 (c) 財匯局有合理因由相信某公眾利益實體核數師所進行某公眾利益實體項目的方式,並不符合投資大眾的利益或公眾利益。 如懷疑存在或可能存在有關不遵從事宜,財務​匯報局可展開查訊。
9. 如果投訴資料及所聲稱失當行為證據或不遵從事宜證據不足、無關重要、不在財務匯報局的管轄範圍內,或不屬有關失當行為或有關不遵從事宜,財務匯報局將採取其認為適當的行動,包括不再跟進投訴或將個案轉介其他合適的監管機構。

如何獲悉投訴進展?

10. 如財務匯報局決定終止跟進投訴,財務匯報局會以書面形式通知投訴人,並概述有關原因。如投訴人對財務匯報局的決定感到不滿,可提供相關理由及證據要求本局作出覆核。
11. 調查或查訊一經展開,財務匯報局不會在處理個案的過程中透露任何資料。這可讓財務匯報局按保密機制進行調查或查訊,確保有關程序公正持平,並保障在調查或查訊過程中涉及的公眾利益實體核數師、註冊負責人及上市實體。
12. 如審閱投訴的時間超過12個月,財務匯報局會在不違反《財務匯報局條例》保密條款的情況下,向投訴人交代審閱進度。
13. 於審閱及評估投訴或於完成調查或查訊後,如證實並無有關失當行為或有關不遵從事宜,財務匯報局會將不採取進一步行動的決定通知投訴人。如投訴人對財務匯報局的決定感到不滿,提供相關理由及證據​要求本局作出覆核。如財務匯報局決定將個案轉介其他監管機構或執法機構跟進,亦會通知投訴人有關決定,但不會透露其他詳情。
14. 財務匯報局在決定是否發表調查或查訊報告,又或是否發表報告的任何部分時會考慮:
(a) 發表有關內容會否對進行任何刑事法律程序或市場失當行為審判處進行的任何研訊程序或根據《專業會計師條例》進行的任何程序有不利影響;
(b) 發表有關內容會否對調查或查訊報告提述的任何人士有不利影響;及
(c) 發表有關報告或其中任何部分是否符合投資者或公眾人士的利益。
備註:
(1) 如投訴人未能提供足夠證據,財務匯報局或無法跟進有關投訴。
(2) 如投訴人選擇以匿名方式提出投訴,或會延長財務匯報局審閱及處理投訴的時間,甚至令財務匯報局難以或無法取得所需資料及證據。
(3) 財務匯報局一般不會處理口頭投訴。若投訴人有困難而不能作出書面投訴,請致電(852)2810 6321 與財務匯報局職員聯絡。 請注意有關對話可能會被錄音。