RECOGNITION OF OVERSEAS AUDITORS

As from 1 October 2019, the amendments to the Financial Reporting Council Ordinance (the FRCO) take effect and the Financial Reporting Council (the FRC) becomes Hong Kong’s independent regulator of listed entity auditors. All auditors intending to carry out a PIE engagement are subject to a system of registration (for Hong Kong auditors) and recognition (for non-Hong Kong auditors). A non-Hong Kong auditor is required to be recognized by the FRC before the auditor can (i) “undertake” (i.e. accept an appointment to carry out) any PIE engagement; and (ii) carry out any PIE engagement for an overseas entity.

Non-Hong Kong auditors recognised by the FRC are contained in the Register of PIE Auditors maintained by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Further details of the recognition of overseas auditors including the meaning of “PIE engagement” are set out in the Recognition of Overseas Auditors Policy Statement​.

Recognition of Overseas Auditors (not including those in Mainland China)​

An application for the recognition of an overseas auditor ​should be made by the overseas entity intending to appoint the overseas auditor to carry out a PIE engagement.

An overseas entity, as an applicant, is required to submit Application Form A – Information of the Overseas Entity, and to coordinate with the proposed overseas auditor for the submission of Application Form B – Information of the Overseas Auditor.

For details of the procedures and eligibility requirements of the recognition of overseas auditors, please refer to Recognition of Overseas Auditors – Application and Renewal Procedures.


Renewal of recognition

The recognition of an overseas auditor as a recognized PIE auditor of an overseas entity expires on 31 December of the year in which the recognition takes effect. An overseas entity intending to retain a recognized PIE auditor to carry out a PIE engagement in the following year is required to apply to the FRC for renewal of the recognition. The renewal application must be made from 1 October to 16 November, both dates inclusive.

An overseas entity, as an applicant, is required to submit Application Form C – Information of the Overseas Entity, and to coordinate with the overseas auditor for the submission of Application Form D – Information of the Overseas Auditor.

Eligibility requirements for renewal of the recognition as a recognized PIE auditor are the same as those for the first time recognition of overseas auditors which are set out in Recognition of Overseas Auditors – Application and Renewal Procedures.

Application forms can be downloaded at Useful Forms.

If you have any questions relating to the recognition of overseas auditors, please refer to Frequently Asked Questions ​ or contact us by:

Email: recognition@frc.org.hk
Tel: +852 2810 6321
Fax: +852 2810 6320

Recognition of Auditors in Mainland China

As from 1 October 2019, an auditor who has been endorsed as being qualified to act as the auditor for a corporation incorporated in Mainland China and listed in Hong Kong under the mutual recognition agreement between Mainland China and the Hong Kong SAR (the Mutual Recognition Agreement), will be recognized as a PIE auditor without a recognition application being made to the FRC.

The recognition is valid as long as the Mutual Recognition Agreement is in force and the endorsement under the Mutual Recognition Agreement has not been withdrawn. The auditor may carry out any PIE engagements for a corporation incorporated in Mainland China and listed in Hong Kong and must carry them out in accordance with the China Accounting Standards for Business Enterprises or the Mainland Auditing Standards.​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

認可境外核數師

《財務匯報局條例》的修訂條文將於2019年10月1日生效,財務匯報局(財匯局)成為香港獨立上市實體核數師監管機構。所有有意進行公眾利益實體項目的核數師需受註冊(本地核數師)或認可(非本地核數師)制度約束。非本地核數師必須獲得​財匯局的認可,方能為境外實體 (i)「承擔」(即接受委任進行)任何公眾利益實體項目或 (ii)進行任何公眾利益實體項目。

香港會計師公會的公眾利益實體核數師註冊紀錄冊,載有已獲得財滙局認可的非本地核數師。

境外核數師的認可詳情及「公眾利益實體項目」的釋義載列於認可境外核數師政策​。

認可境外核數師(不包括中國內地核數師)

境外實體應就其有意委任進行公眾利益實體項目的境外核數師作出認可申請。

境外實體作爲申請人,應提交表格A–境外實體資料,並應與其建議委任的核數師協調提交表格 B–境外核數師資料

有關境外核數師的認可之程序及資格要求,請參閱境外核數師的認可–申請及續期程序

認可續期

凡某境外核數師被認可為公衆利益實體核數師,該項認可在其生效的日期所屬年度的 12月31日期滿失效。境外實體若有意保留其認可公眾利益實體核數師在下一年度進行公眾利益實體項目,可向財匯局提出申請將該項認可續期。 續期申請必須於10月1日至11月16日(包括首尾兩日)之間提出

境外實體作爲申請人,應提交表格C–境外實體資料,並應與其境外核數師協調提交表格 D–境外核數師資料

認可公眾利益實體核數師的認可續期之資格要求與境外核數師的認可–申請及續期程序中列明的境外核數師的首次認可之資格要求相同。

申請表格可於適用表格下載

如對境外核數師的認可有任何疑問,請參閱常見問題或透過以下方式聯繫我們:

電郵: recognition@frc.org.hk
電話: +852 2810 6321
傳真: +852 2810 6320

中國內地核數師的認可

按照中國內地與香港達成的相互認可協議獲確認為在中國內地成立並在香港上市的法團的核數師,無須向財匯局提交認可申請,而自2019年10月1日起將獲認可為公眾利益實體核數師。

只要相互認可協議正在實施,及按照相互認可協議獲確認為具備資格的核數師,而有關確認沒有被撤回的情況下,該認可持續有效。該核數師可以為在中國內地成立並在香港上市的法團行進行公眾利益實體項目,惟必須按照內地企業會計準則或內地審計準則進行這些項目。​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​